Bliss Nova began as a tentative side project for Daniel and Joel Trzcinski, siblings from Toledo, OH. They had been the backing band for a singer/songwriter whose health issues put the project on indefinite hiatus. Without so much as a name, the sonic direction only became clear with Daniel’s initial bedroom demos — lofi melodic pop with samples and softsynths. Adding Joel’s dynamic drumming to the mix, the songs were released as their 2015 debut EP, Do You Feel, which quickly garnered traction on indie blogs as well as chillwave-adjacent channels like Youtube’s 80s Ladies (30M+ views to date).

Lauded as “one of the top promising artists from the Midwest,” the band developed their live show — “a tapestry of ethereal electronic soundscapes set against explosive, booming rhythm” — embarked on several short-run tours, and explored new sounds in 2017 with EP Light & Shadow and double A-side “Say It” / “Now.” In 2019 their first full-length, Going Places, served up a cohesive collection of synthy grooves, simultaneously fresh and vintage, followed by their 2021 EP, Silence, a frenetic song cycle about desire.

Returning in late 2022 with “Feel So High,” the band cinches up their dreamy danceable pop for an in-the-pocket number with as much poise as passion. Ghostly artist Brijean (Toro y Moi, Poolside) contributed lush percussion and vibey vocals paired with her partner & bandmate Dougie Stu’s dialed-in bass parts.

Their song “Always Be Young” taps into the boundless energy of being carefree in love, knowing we don’t live forever. 

“Always Be Young” is a supremely catchy effort of blissed-out indie pop. Carried by shimmering synth textures, lo-fi production touches, and dreamy washed-out vocals, the track fits effortlessly into the lane of indie pop carved by outfits like Beach House or Toro y Moi. Yet, Bliss Nova also conjures their own sun-lit iteration on the style, one that trades in lush melancholy for pure vital joy. That element is captured perfectly in the lyrics, which find the band celebrating youth and love in a way that feels both classic and timeless一“So as long as / We’re together / We will always be young.”Under the Radar

The latest single “Every Move” is a quirky pop song featuring Olugbenga Adelekan on bass.

A grooving, funk-touched pop showing from Bliss Nova, “Every Move” struts a suave infectiousness — melding MGMT-esque psych-pop grooves and spacey electronica pursuits. The track features the thumping bass enthrallment of Olugbenga Adelekan from Metronomy.

“Every Move” compels with its hypnotic bass movement and debonair vocal movements, accompanied with a lush synth backing and chirp-y sporadic movements. A spacey, emotive bridge — “you’re so smooth when I’m grooving,” — diversifies enjoyably, building with bass-led charisma into the initial sequence. “Every Move” is a replay-inducing success from Bliss Nova. Obscure Sound


bliss nova store

Follow Bliss Nova:

︎   ︎   ︎   ︎   ︎   ︎   ︎ 




Shores of Echo is the electronic ambient solo project of Daniel Trzcinski, one half of synth pop duo Bliss Nova from Toledo, Ohio.

The debut self-titled album was recorded in late fall 2020, after Trzcinski’s mid-pandemic move to Akron, then mixed and mastered by Steve Hauschildt, and released in 2021 on Magic Mood Records.

Hauschildt’s subtle touch expands the full-length’s sense of space — unsurprising, given his work as part of acclaimed experimental electronic trio Emeralds (also hailing from Northeast Ohio) as well as his immersive solo efforts put out on Kranky, Editions Mego, and Ghostly over the past decade.

Shores of Echo turned out to be both symptom of and antidote to the unmooring many experienced in lockdown: muted melodies swim below swells of reserved melancholia and tranquility, something evoked by minimal synths, pianos, and vocals — along with personal field recordings of several bodies of water — all awash with delay and reverberation.

Trzcinski’s lifelong nearness to the Great Lakes, as well as learning the likes of Chopin, Satie, and Debussy by ear in earlier years, account for the aquatic calm, whose emotive waves take listeners further out into murkier abstractions as the album progresses. While only retrospectively conceptual, it’s almost as if the album soundtracks a single day of coastal exploration on some water exoplanet orbiting another sun — alien, yet intimate.

The project also marks the expansion of Trzcinski’s artistic endeavors into audio-visual work. Securing a fellowship with Akron Soul Train in 2021, Shores of Echo A/V: Screensaver, featuring a visual component using CRT-TVs developed for the residency, has been installed twice in the gallery. Akron Beacon Journal has described it as “a painterly and expressive swath of sound [and full color] that glows, dips and undulates through the air.”

Follow Shores of Echo:


︎   ︎   ︎   ︎ 



Magic Mix is a music discovery podcast hosted by Magic Mood founder & Bliss Nova drummer Joel Trzcinski, featuring in-depth artist interviews, curated playlists and brand new music from emerging and established acts.

Every episode is an opportunity to discover artists or immerse further into bands you already know.

Guests so far include Seb Wildblood, Space Ghost, Teen Daze, Brothertiger, System Olympia, Daniel T., Moon King, LANNDS and more. Check out the latest episodes below.


Magic Mood is an independent record label, experiential brand & music publishing company founded by
Joel Trzcinski
with a special focus on collaboration, experimentation and unwavering support for its artists. Magic Mood empowers the unique vision of each artist—upholding high quality creative output and elevating the listening experience for those willing to immerse with an open mind.






Vist Store